UNESCO sites in Morocco

There are nine World Heritage sites in Morocco. The list of UNESCO sites in Morocco spread across the country from North to South, with historic cities and natural areas of unique interest.

The Moroccan UNESCO World Heritage list covers very different objects. It represents the contemporary discourse of a pluralistic and historical society.

These UNESCO Morocco sites include the great imperial cities of Morocco; the Berber-Arab cultural legacy of the medinas in Morocco (a medina is the old part of Arab cities); the archaeological sites in Morocco with the classical antiquity of the Mediterranean, the Portuguese coastal heritage; and the nomadic lifestyle of the Sahara Desert.

Are you planning your next holidays in Morocco? Then don’t forget to include us and book your trip to Morocco with us. You can also check out our day trips from Marrakech, an unforgettable tour from Marrakech to Fes, or a desert trip from Marrakech and explore this beautiful part of the world. On this page, we list the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Morocco.

Morocco UNESCO sites: Volubilis Archaeological Site, the Historic City of Meknes, Ksar Ait Benhaddou, Medina of Essaouira, Medina of Fes, Medina of Marrakech, Tetouan medina, the Portuguese City of El Jadida, and the Medina of Rabat.

UNESCO sites in Morocco

  1. Since the mid-1970s, UNESCO has maintained a prestigious list of places worldwide that are considered worthy of attention and protection;
  2. In the case of Morocco, there are nine of these locations, in addition to a list of thirteen other candidates;
  3. The first to be registered was the Medina of Fes (1981);
  4. And the most recent, Rabat (2012).
Open chat
Hello, I'm Omar, and I'm here to help you book your trip to Morocco. How can I help?